Casi

On the ruins of the Sutro Baths
Outer Richmond
Thursday morning

***

I’m originally from Northridge, CA: a hot and dry valley just a few miles outside Los Angeles. Some people may call me a valley girl, cause I totally say totally like all the time. But, now I Live Here: SF! No longer the valley girl, I am now a San Francisco Noob.

I fell in love with San Francisco after only one visit for a family member’s wedding. Seeing everyone walking and riding through the steep hills filled with family owned shops was like seeing a whole other world. Everyone is different here in San Francisco. I think this is because of the amount of freedom people feel when they live in a city where it’s acceptable to be whoever you want and not get mocked for it. Such an amazing feeling.

I graduated college in Northridge, CA in May 2009. By June I had already started my exit out of The Valley and into The Bay Area. After a couple visits for apartment hunting purposes my high school sweet heart and I packed up a U-Haul and made our way to our new home.

We chose the Outer Richmond District because of its beauty. As beach people our entire lives it seemed less shocking to go from Malibu to Ocean Beach rather than to the heart of Downtown. (Price had a little bit to do with it too.) I have to say, we really lucked out on this one. With Sutro Heights Park, Lands End Trail, Sutro Baths, and Ocean Beach in our backyard I immediately fell in love with my new city.

Sutro Heights park is practically my backyard, so I consider myself pretty lucky! This park is filled with lush fields, giant trees (even one I like to call ‘the elephant tree’), and the best views of Ocean Beach and the Outer Richmond/Sunset. Bringing our house dog Stella to play fetch, ride bikes, a game of bocce ball, and lunch on top of Sutro’s old lookout tower are some of the best times I’ve had in San Francisco, all thanks to this beautiful park.

Just a quick walk down a dirt path and across Point Lobos Ave. lies my favorite spot in San Francisco: Sutro Baths. It has become the go-to spot to watch the sun set on a clear day with my love. Hiking down to the ruins was a bit scary at first, but now it’s a must whenever guests are in town. My favorite time of them all was watching the Leonid meteor shower. It was a clear night at 1a.m. and Sutro Baths was filled with everyone in San Francisco. Bundled up in blankets, everyone joined together in the beauty and pointed and WooHoo’d for every passing meteor over the Sutro Bath ruins.

I wouldn’t trade the time I have spent over here in the gorgeous Outer Richmond for anything!

***

You can see the rest of Casi’s photo shoot here.
SanFranciscoNoobs.com – http://www.sanfrancisconoobs.com
SFNoobs on Twitter – http://twitter.com/SFNoobs

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 12, 2010 at 8:32 am | Permalink

    That. Photo. Is. Gorgeous. And Sutro Baths is one of my favorite spots in the city — I adore those ruins. Great story — welcome, Casi!

  2. Posted January 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    wow, great photo. how do you normally choose the location for these shots?

  3. Posted January 14, 2010 at 8:29 am | Permalink

    Well, oh talented Julie, you’ve really got some splendid shots in this set…
    And how do you find such beautiful people? Oh, I guess they find you… But they must be attracted by an essence of some sort… Bottle that essence you’d make a billion dollars — I’d be your first customer…

  4. Posted January 14, 2010 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    Julie does have this amazing attraction abilities. I think it’s all about her awesome personality. Oh yea, and she take pretty much the most amazing pic’s I’ve ever seen! Thank’s again Julie for this amazing photo shoot! I had the best time EVER!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] my post I focused on my love for the Outer Richmond. We explored Sutro Heights Park and Sutro Baths, all […]

  2. […] Twitter, and none of them killed me! WooHoo. I did an awesome photo shoot with @JulieMichelle from I Live Here: SF, had cock wine (yes, that’s a real wine!) with @NicoleisBetter/@JamieVaron/@heardbefore, and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

